Thank You for Being a Friend- R.I.P Rue McClanahan

The news of Rue McClanahan’s death early this morning at the age of 76 has me truly saddened.

While I never knew Rue outside of the roles she played, especially Blanche Devereaux  on the Golden Girls, I always felt like she, and the rest of the Golden Girls cast, were part of my family. When I was younger I would watch the re-runs on television constantly with my grandmother. She too has passed on and now to know that another grandmother figure is gone honestly brings tears to my eyes.

My grandmother passed away in 2007. Estelle Getty (Sofia) passed away in 2008. Bea Arthur (Dorothy) passed away in 2009. Now Rue in 2010. To that I say, 2011 don’t you dare take Betty White from us! A part of the Golden Girls needs to live on forever bringing joy to people’s lives.

I am at a loss of words over this sad news. Rue will always be Blanche and will always make me laugh when I continue to watch reruns in my adult life. While a part of my childhood was lost today, Hollywood also lost a talented and vivacious woman. At least she is no longer suffering and is in a better place.

Thank you for being a friend. You will never be forgotten.

R.I.P

Rue McLanahan

February 21, 1934 – June 3, 2010

2 comments

  1. Pingback: World Wide News Flash
    • nrmurph · June 8, 2010

      Thank you, glad you enjoyed it 🙂

Leave a Reply

