Butt Kicking and Love on Buffy

Buffy the Vampire Slayer was my life from 1997 to 2003. In fact, it still is a big part of my life. It was and always will be the TV show that I know inside and out, that warms my heart, and makes me want to kick butt at the same time.

As I finished re-watching season 6 of the show, I’m reminded of what good television used to be like. Sure the climatic ending of the show is a tearjerker- Willow is trying to destroy the world because of her grief over Tara, Giles appears to be dying, Spike is getting eaten by bugs- it all screams impending doom. Yet everyone survives because of love.

Xander brings Willow back to reality by saying he loves her, Buffy realizes she wants to show Dawn the world, and Spike is given his soul back. Love is a common element in all Buffy episodes but it had such a profound statement in this last episode. Love is what kept them alive.

All you need in life are your friends and love. Yet I for one know that friends can be a difficult matter that actually make me wish I could become a black magic witch and destroy everything I touch, but that’s another story. Buffy was a coming of age story about how the connections and love you develop with others can save you.

I can’t remember the last time a show had such an important message. 7 years after the show ended, and I still wish it was on. Thank god for DVDs.

Leave a Reply

