A Prehistoric Prom-Asaurus

When I went to prom 7 years ago, it certainly wasn’t as fun/dramatic as McKinley’s. First off, there were no Kings and Queens since it was a private Catholic school, and singling two people out wouldn’t be “right.” Like Rachel, I had no chance at winning Prom Queen because I wasn’t one of those popular girls. But much like Santana and Quinn, I sure as hell would have liked to win it if the crown fit.

Except they both had the chance to crown themselves. Quinn was the victor, fair and square, with Santana only one vote behind her. They had the power to ensure that one of them would win but in what is by far, the most character growth amidst the 3 seasons, they did what they considered the right thing. Santana didn’t want to be Queen if Brittany wasn’t King. That is simply beautiful compared to her desperate plea to win last year with her beard Karofsky. There is a tiara collection in the Fabray household, and last year Quinn slapped Rachel across the face because she blamed her for ruining her chances at winning. This year, they both sabotaged the votes and handed in a card that stated that Rachel Berry won on write-in votes.

Part of me didn’t like that Rachel won because it shows her complete lack of growth. She is supposed to be the girl that doesn’t care about popularity or boys; just her Broadway dreams. She completely lost that this year and by only caring about her fiancé and now getting the quintessential (no pun intended, but man, was Faberry on last night or what?) high school title, she seems to only care about what happens in her life with Finn. Barf.

Quinntana looked a whole lot more excited and pleased than Finn, which yet again just proves that Finchel sucks! He screamed at Quinn (completely ruining “Love You Like a Love Song”. Rude) to get up and walk when in season one, he pretended to be handicapped in order to get a job. Hypocrite much? Quinn stood on that stage and sang “Take My Breath Away” for you and your girlfriend, how about some gratitude? It’s sad that I think my Finchel hate has only escalated because of my hate of Monchele, which needs to end immediately. I never want to see or hear anything Monchele related again in my life.

I also don’t want to see double standards and prehistoric thinking. I lost track of how many times Finchel kissed last night, as well as all the random students shown making out. Why do we always get to see that, but Brittana and Klaine get nothing? All of this ironically occurring at the same time North Carolina passed a constitutional ban on same-sex marriage. Glee is supposed to be paving the way for television and it’s not doing a very thorough job, but again, only mature viewers will be aware of these travesties because we’re in touch with reality. Although if I don’t stop singing “Love You Like A Love Song” and “Dinosaur,” I may just wind up locked up in a psychiatric hospital, rocking myself back and forth in rhyme. Maybe if I’m lucky, I’ll share a room with Brittany since everyone thought she was crazy for her prehistoric dinosaur prom theme- which was pretty awesome if you ask me.

Also awesome: Becky Jackson. I love angry Becky. I love rude Becky. I just love Becky because she tells it like it is and doesn’t care what people think about her. She had hopes of being Prom Queen too and people looking at her for the right reason (aw!) and none other than Noah Puckerman crowned her with a beer box crown. Keeping it classy Puckerman, I approve.

There are only 3 episodes left, including next week’s 2 hour 2 episode extravaganza. I don’t think we’re ready for this jelly.

Leave a Reply

