It’s All Coming Back To Me Now

Glee should always air for 2 hours. Correction: Glee should always air for 2 hours when it was as good and magical as it was last night. “Props” and “Nationals” were solid and well written episodes. Especially if you mute the TV every time Finchel has a scene. Then it’s phenomenal!

My only complaint in the entire 2 hours is that they didn’t let the body swap last for nearly long enough. I was just getting used to Puck as Blaine and Rachel as Tina when they pulled us back into reality. I could have certainly had some more Santana mimicking Artie and Quinn as the giddy Sugar. Spot on. Yet, it served its purpose to bring Tina Cohen-Chang front and center for an episode. Finally! How long have I been complaining that Tina is ignored? Long enough for me to receive a text message last night stating: “I think the writers read your blog.” So, on that note, thank you very much for taking my thoughts into consideration. Please hire me for season 4, I have some fresh ideas I would love to share with the world. Call me!

While Props tidied up the lingering Coach Bieste domestic abuse storyline, Puck’s angst, and Rachel’s quest for acceptance into NYADA, “Nationals” brought us back to what Glee is really about. The music. The camaraderie. The desire to make a dream come true. While Brittany lost her pillow and blanket out the window (disaster!) everyone started fighting over dance moves. So Santana unleashed her rage and gave everyone a piece of her mind before Mr. Schue was there to remind the kids that they want to win so badly; that their last Nationals meant that much to them. And to us viewers at home, who have watched these kids struggle at coming in #1 when it mattered.

On stage, they were flawless. Lea Michele gave Celine Dion a run for her money  on “All Coming Back To Me Now.” That voice could move mountains I swear. Add in the ladies going to the “Edge of Glory” and back again for “Paradise by the Dashboard Light” and you have one solid performance. For the first time ever, I agreed with Lindsay Lohan. Those New Directions were great. Everybody appreciates a comeback, especially Ms. Lohan. And it’s a good thing the judges agreed because we never would have gotten to see those happy faces accepting their trophy and marching back to McKingley.

 

“Tongue Tied” is not only one of my favorite songs of the past few months, but it’s also now associated with my favorite Glee scene of all time. This montage was so beautiful and happy, that yes, I cried. It was just so perfect! The fear of rejection turned into complete praise, jubilation, confetti, sparkling cider, dip kisses in the hall, Emma going all the way, just everything that I imagine heaven to be like. Minus Finchel. I still think that’s hell.

These 2 episodes have had me thinking about my own high school graduation quite a lot. And with next week’s “Goodbye” episode, I think I’ll cry more than my own graduation because at least I knew I would see my friends again. My fictional friends, I may never see again.

Damn all these feelings, coming back to me now

Leave a Reply

